Please explain

S

Sandre

Titch said:
Please explain:

http://www.physorg.com/news11087.html

I have a headache now.

Well, headache here too, been reading it this morning and uhhhh.
And I studied physics, but this :p
I've been reading some of the background articles about Grover's algorithm, which is implemented in this computer and about counterfactual computations (which is what makes it work) and all I can say is I can read and understand the formulas and it's all great, but there's no way I can explain it. Grover's algorithm (written down in 1996 i believe) and counterfactual computations (something from 5 years ago or so) are both based on the basic principle of quantum mechanics (for which I had an 8 out of 10 score at university, but that's not helping a lot here :cry: ) dating from 1926 or so (you might have heard of it, it's called Heisenberg's uncertainty principle, something which made Einstein say 'God doesn't play dice' or so, guess even he can be wrong).

That computer is even weirder than it seems at first glance. You'll get the right answer if you have it -not- compute the answer (so the algorithm isn't executed, but you do get the answer to the question). If it executes the algorithm, the answer will be wrong :eek:

At least the guys who came up with this computer say it's weird too.

Sandre

For mathematicians and computational science people among us:
fastest normal search algorithm in an unordered list executed on a non quantum computer is of the order O(N).
Grover's algorithm on this quantumcomputer searches an unordered list in O(N^1/2). So you could say it defies normal mathematical possibilities :eek:
Nice question though: does that matter at all, since you don't even need to execute the algorithm? Guess I'll be getting another headache now :p

S

Sandre

Ayu said:
....42? :cry:

Almost. The issue with 42 is not knowing the question.