Help

Damonkey

Mar 10, 2009
First of all i'm a bit of a noob with things like this so if its obvious forgive me. I just bought an external hard drive. I decided to upload some photos and videos to my ps3. However the hard drive is not fat-32 its NTFS so can i switch over, so i can upload without losing all my data? Any advice is appreciated. Hard drive model is Iomega LPHD-UP
Thxs Damonkey.

Jazende

Sacred vines, entangle the corrupted!
Staff member
May 12, 2008
You can't change filesystem and keep files on em, you'll have to back them up on another place temporarly. There's not really anything wrong with NTFS though.

If you're truely desperate and there's still more than half room left on the disk you can theoreticly partition it, make the second the correct FS and place em on there, then reformat the other partition when it's empty.

OP
Damonkey

Damonkey

Mar 10, 2009
Ye NTFS is fine but for some reason PS3's will only let you update from fat-32. I trawled through some forums and seems i will need to buy a usb stick and do it that way :(

Atermors

Dec 2, 2010
There are FS you can downgrade but NTFS and Fat-{16,32} aren't among them. (You could upgrade Fat to NTFS)
If its just for updates of your PS3 try resizing the large NTFS Partition to something like Size-500MB and format the created 500MB to Fat32. Don't use Fat32 for large devices it's horribly slow on them, its fine for small devices though.
Don't really know good partition software for Windows, if you got a linux live cd use gparted for it.

Croga

Says funny things =)
Sep 9, 2008
The Hellmouth
Long answer: